Ready Player One is set in the year 2044 and the world is in near-ruins. The Internet and gaming culture have evolved into a creation known as OASIS (Ontologically Anthropocentric Sensory Immersive Simulation), a massive multiplayer online simulation game created by James Halliday and Ogden Morrow.  Wade Watts devotes his life to finding Halliday’s Easter Egg, hidden in the OASIS, and the gunters (egg hunters) must find it before IOI (a rival company) do – to stop them taking over the OASIS. 

I really enjoyed Ready Player One from start to finish, it was literally a book I could not put down and I read the whole 384 page novel in under 4 hours. 

Wade is a very relatable and likeable character and you really want to see him succeed. Cline write him fantastically well and he’s a really believable character. As someone who is introverted and loves video games I could really see myself in Wade. I empathised with the characters all the way through, and I felt genuine joy and, at times, sadness as the characters did, the story felt like it was really happening, and I was really absorbed by it.

I got a huge kick out of all the 80s pop culture and video game references as well, (I love the EIGHTIES) although some of them I didn’t get, and I think that even if you aren’t a massive geek and don’t get all the references it doesn’t matter too much. 

I loved this book so much I genuinely wish I could forget having read it in order to enjoy it afresh! I really can’t express how good it is! I love the book and the characters, and I feel really sad that I don’t go to school in the OASIS! The idea of ‘virtual reality’ has been around for ages, but the OASIS propels it into something else, and whilst reading the book I got so consumed by the RPO universe it felt completely real. 

I’m giving it 5 stars, so full marks, but it deserves ten out of 5, Ready Player One has gone straight into my top five favourite books, if not my complete favourite, 

I recommend EVERYONE reads it, but particularly games fans, and fans of dystopian sci-fi!

EXCELLENT!!

 

