Atonement is a novel, split into two parts, telling the story of thirteen year old Briony Tallis, a budding writer with (I think) an inflated sense of her own importance. She misconstrues a scene between her sister (Cecilia) and their housekeeper’s son (Robbie) who is favoured by Mr. Tallis. The book begins with a simple enough mistake and then follows it’s repercussions throughout the years, ending with Briony’s seventy seventh birthday in a postscript written from her perspective.

I actually read this book for my A-Level English Literature course and I finished it over the summer, and generally I enjoyed the story and really raced through the book. Initially I quite liked Briony, I liked the fact that she was a writer and she really liked order, but as the book continued I began to really dislike her and at times she was so wearing I didn’t want to read on. I also felt like it was quite obviously teaching a moral. 

Overall I enjoyed the book and I am enjoying analysing it for my coursework. I’m giving it three stars as It’s not something I would have chosen to read (although inevitably I would have because I’m trying to read the 1001 books to read before you die) but I did like it, and it didn’t feel like a chore that I had to complete, even though I disliked Briony.

Worth the read.

