(If you haven’t watched Frozen yet ((you should)) but also there may be minor spoilers in this post, this is a PSA)

I never really watched a lot of Disney films when I was little, I was never the sort of child who’d cry if their parents said they’d take her to DisneyLand and to be honest my family weren’t really the Disney type. I had little to no exposure really, I’d seen some of the films, but I wasn’t a Disney fan particularly and I never wanted to be a Disney princess. And then I went to secondary school.

I met some of the most wonderful people I know, and they introduced me to the world of Disney, endless movie marathons, dolls, dresses and sing alongs. My favourite Disney movie is Atlantis: The Lost Empire, and obviously favourite Princess/Queen: Kida. (Sadly) Kida isn’t counted as one of the eleven designated Disney Princesses (who are Snow White, Cinderella, Aurora, Ariel, Belle, Jasmine, Pocahontas, Mulan, Tiana, Rapunzel, Merida and now Anna and Elsa have been unofficially added) but she’s still a badass.

My real love of Disney started with Mulan, she’s absolutely great, a strong female character who, at the age of only SIXTEEN, saves the whole of China. The Disney Wiki describes her as: Independent, clumsy, outdoorsy, brave, courageous, outspoken, clever, resourceful, witty, adventurous, tomboyish, creative, self-reliant, tenacious, unique, spirited, astute, sneaky, self-conscious, protective, alert, awkward, procrastinating, pensive, selfless, opinionated, impulsive, absent-minded, ambitious, dogmatic and modest. She’s got a personality.

Since Mulan I have really really loved all the Disney Princesses. Tiana is a lady who works hard to get what she wants, and she doesn’t give up, no matter how hard it gets. Rapunzel beats up a dude with a FRYING PAN and breaks away from an emotionally abusive relationship with Mother Gothel with a ridiculously optimistic outlook on life, to end up marrying the man she loves. In Brave, Merida is young and quirky(even though I hate that word), and the relationship between her and her mother is great, and in the end she doesn’t even get married, that’s her happily ever after. In Frozen (which was originally the reason I started writing this.) it’s about the power of love between sisters, and not about romantic love at all (SPOILER ALERT: Hans is a tool.) Anna and Elsa are fab and I totally want to be Elsa. Frozen is just such a great movie, it  has an important message about letting your children be themselves, and at the end Kristoff even asks before he kisses Anna. Personally I think that Elsa is such a great character because there’s something to be said for how she enjoys her own company.

I just really really love Frozen (and you know, Disney) in fact it’s a close contender for favourite Disney movie, I was going to put a top five here but there is now way I literally cannot decide on a top anything because I love so many of them!

So if anyone wants to buy me an Elsa dress and a Kida costume that’d be swell.

(P.S. If you haven’t already, watch Frozen!! I haven’t really spoiled it, don’t worry!)

(P.P.S I HATE the new drawings of the Disney Princesses, Ugh – but that’s for another post)

