Set in 1922 this book is about a young woman living with her mother who is forced to take on lodgers in order to maintain the house, however none of them know what a live changing experience this is going to be.

I enjoyed reading this book immensely *spoilers*Β any book about lesbians immediately goes up in my estimation. Sarah Waters’ writing is utterly beautiful and I love not only her use of words but also the wonderful way she lays out the plot. The characterisation is very well done and whilst reading I felt as though I knew them intimately and I desperately had to keep reading to learn more of their lives.

I gave it four stars because the writing is superb, he plot was gripping and the research that must have gone into the setting and attention to detail made it feel so real. I would definitely recommend that everyone reads this book.

